Have A Question? Call 626-744-9533  
Home » Bargain Books » C-E » Erewhon Bargain Book

Sample Pages

Erewhon Bargain Book

Every title in this series is priced to keep your budget in balance and get you more books for your dollar. At these prices, you can have a classroom overflowing with a dizzying selection of titles and enough copies for everyone! Use these books as incentives or buy beloved stories to give your students so they can start building their own libraries.

In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novelErewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. SamuelButler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creatingErewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind.
Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.

Butler
Qty
WB-X20486 Paperback $5.50
WB-420486 Group Set - A Group Set has ten paperbacks. $52.25
WB-520486 Class Set - A Class Set has thirty paperbacks. $156.75

You may also like...

Accept Credit Cards Online
    |  Site Map