Have A Question? Call 626-744-9533  
Home » Books and Literature Guides » R » Red Scarf Girl: A memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Sample Pages

Red Scarf Girl: A memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl’s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages. This edition includes a detailed glossary and pronunciation guide.

Jiang
Reading Level 5.  
Interest Level 5-12.  
Qty
WB-2976 Paperback $7.99
WB-5666102 Cover Craft $16.25
WB-4976 Group Set - A Group Set has ten paperbacks and one Novel-Ties. $96.85
WB-5976 Class Set - A Class Set has thirty paperbacks and one Novel-Ties. $256.65
WB-378612 Teacher Guide $11.99
WB-378620 Student Packet $12.99
WB-83275 Novel-Ties $16.95

You may also like...

Accept Credit Cards Online
    |  Site Map